Dallas Cowboys Owner JERRY JONES Tells Players: “Stand For The National Anthem Or Your Ass Is Off The Team”

Oct 21, 2012; Charlotte, NC, USA; Dallas Cowboys owner Jerry Jones point to the fans prior to the game against the Carolina Panthers at Bank of America Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Jeremy Brevard-US PRESSWIRE

I personally have had enough of these overpaid, spoiled athletes trying to make political statements while millions of people are tuned in to watch a sport to get their mind OFF of politics.

It’s no secret that NFL ratings have tanked after the Kaepernick “protests.” Those protests aren’t working out too well for Kaepernick as he struggled to find even a back up QB job.  Well, Jerry Jones is making sure that doesn’t happen in Dallas. He told the Cowboys players, “stand for the anthem or your @ss is off the team!”

Some people question the character of the Cowboys. Others will call out Jerry Jones. But there are a few things for sure: The Cowboys are Jerry Jones’ team and he loves his country.

Make no mistake about it, Jones expects certain things out of the players on his team. He wants commitment and loyalty. Since he pays their salaries isn’t it reasonable that he can set some expectations?

Any of the players on the team who don’t respect this have the option of not signing a contract with the Cowboys and joining another team. The other teams out there will let you disrespect the American flag, but Jerry Jones will not.

Here is that punk Kaepernick kneeling during the national anthem.

Per CBS Local:

As the Dallas Cowboys begin training camp, Owner Jerry Jones wants to make one thing very clear to his team before the 2017 NFL season begins.

If any of his players want to take a knee during the National Anthem, don’t expect to see them on the roster for much longer.

Last season, Jones told CBS Radio’s 105.3 The Fan, “I got to give a big pat on the back to our entire team, our coaching staff, our entire organization. We strongly, strongly support the flag in every way we support — and it’s almost ridiculous to be saying it — the people who for generations and generations have given it all up so that we can get out here and show off in front of millions of people on television.”

We’ll see which Cowboys are standing and still want to be employed as they kick off the NFL’s pre-season taking on the Arizona Cardinals in the Hall of Fame game on Thursday, August 3.

Reasons like this are why the Cowboys have so many rabid fans. What do you think about what Jerry Jones told his team? Did he take things too far? Let us know in the comment section.

 

174 Comments on Dallas Cowboys Owner JERRY JONES Tells Players: “Stand For The National Anthem Or Your Ass Is Off The Team”

    • Damn right, are things perfect, no, but they are not perfect anywhere, the flag represents the perfect idea of America, and the sacrifice of all that preceded us is what we honor by standing. If you want to protest our flag that is your right, but know, there are consequences, alot of men and women have fallen in the cause of freedom, both black and white and others, and when we honor the flag we honor them, and I as a Black American, will not allow them to have died in vain. I’m I’m with Jerry.

    • Good for you Jerry Jones, you are the man. Just like others say; if they want to disrespect our flag, that means they disrespect our country! If they don’t believe in it they can do it on their own time, space but not on our time, or your time. You pay them good money to play a game, and if they can’t take 5 minutes for our flag them they don’t need to play the game. After all this is American of United States NFL games, so why should they be allowed to play if they don’t like it. Stick to your guns, and don’t back down.

    • I am anxiously waiting to see the position of all of the other owners. We will find out shortly if they are true Americans or simply greedy business people. I simply cannot understand an American who would greed, selfish, and unpatriotic as to not demand that is employees, and make no mistake, that is exactly what these overpaid brats are, show proper respects not only to the flag, but what it stands for. If these black babies believe that they are being discriminated against it shows their ignorance. They make far too much money and enjoy way too much freedom for that….and in closing the biggest impediment out there to stopping this childish behavioris Roger Goodell…FIRE ROGER GOODELL.

      • I know one thing for sure and that is “equal rights for all” vs “MAGA” are two different things for different people. I know/understood this back in the 1960’s and now in 2017 under Trump adm.

      • Who are those “black babies” you’re referring to? I kinda got lost reafing your comment and thought maybe this was the Charlottesville, VA story.

      • They are protesting the number of people being shot for no reason by in these United States. We fought and died in ALL your wars and we are still treated like shut by those that run the country we still have to deal with racists but I guess all that is ok

    • Every owner should tell his players the same thing!! Jerry Jones isn’t a favorite of mine but on this statement we agree!!
      Seattle has already told a player he can stay on the bench, what a cop out make the idiot to stand or pack his suitcase!!! Just my opinion

    • for once a man wearing the pants does the right thing.. I will be forever grateful to Jerry !!!This is our country and if someone does not like to respect our country, please get out !!!!

    • I agree with him 100% is strongly urged the other owners to follow suit and that gutless commissioner should have set that standard long ago

  1. The Dallas Cowboys just picked up a new fan!! Thank you, Mr. Jones. As the owner of the Cowboys, you have every right to ask this of your players. They are your employees and you pay their paycheck!

    A close family member serves in the Air Force and is getting ready to go on his second tour of duty soon. He, his family, and all of our service men and women sacrifice a great deal so that Americans can have the freedom to make the choices they want.

    • He pays them TO PLAY FOOTBALL. I don’t ever remember the anthem beingbin a playbook! It’s completely hypocritical to expect the players to listen to the anthem – the RACIST national anthem – and then tell them to leave politics out of the workplace! It’s sounds downright retarded actually! If my employer made me listen to that stupid sh*t upon my arrival at work my letter of resignation would be on HR’s desk within minutes! They wouldn’t have to fire me. Once the players all develop some balls, the owners are going to learn the hard way who has the power. Nobody shows up to look at their old, ugly asses! They show up to see the players.

      • Think the anthem is racist then leave america, also the owners of the team can kick peoole regardless what HR says. Good try though trying to use hr as a way to whine and get what you want. Chow!!

        • Zack You people always say this retarded and uninformed statement, “Leave America if you do not like it” Well it is factual that The Native Americans, i.e. Indians were here living peacefully before Christopher Columbus and his murderous thugs from Europe came over and committed genocide and then made a pact with Arabs and Africans to enslave Hebrew Israelites beginning in 1555 to come to work this land for free. This is our country and we are not going anywhere.Do not believe it Zack???? Read in your Bible, the entire 28th chapter of Deuteronomy.

          • Slavery has been going on as long as man has been on the earth. It is not exclusive to any race, creed, country, or religion. It has never been about race but about the ability of one or more groups of people to exert control over other groups. If one looks at the history of the world races of all colors have been enslaved at one time or another, so for one race to claim slavery has caused them more harm thsn any other is ludicrous.

            I’ve never been a Cowboys fan but hats off to Jerry. Now if every other NFL and NBA owner would follow suit they might gain some fans back. But if anyone ever hires Kapernick without him first making a big time teary, groveling, public apology the NFL will never recover.

          • Why is it the African-American race want to make this a racist issue? When it’s not a racist issue! It’s a patronage issue. It’s about the men and women who fought for the freedom and were KILLED! and the bodies of the dead. Who were wrapped in that flag and brought back to this country dead, to their families to mourn their lives. It’s about standing up and respecting those people who fought for the freedom for that flag to fly in the sky, so we can stand and walk the streets of this great country. It has nothing to do with the color of anybody skin, weather are black, white, red, brown, green, purple, blue, yellow, or green. Or the mother or father you were born by.

          • I think out of due respect it is very important to not minimize the history of African-American slaves in America, and pass off as it was “just” enslavement because it wasn’t. I know this because I am a descendant of African-American slavery. Ijs

          • Too far. It is a peaceful demonstration against a President that defends Nazis and their hatred for Jews and takes up for White Supremacy yet calls out 2 men who are peacefully demonstrating with no weapons or hatred. He threatens them that they should be fired and calls them s.o.b.s. They happen to be black. Ironic? I think not. Our President seems to have a problem understanding freedom of speech, Bigotry, bulliness, common deceny and heart! He is the President for All Americans NOT just the ones he seems to align himself with!! Jehoviah’s Witness’s do not stand for the flag as do other religions, they are not mean spirited people either! The President made this a public manner so quit blaming the players! We have larger problems he needs to be concentrating on!!

        • I thought this would help anyone that though racist words in this song I could not find
          “NONE NOT ONE”

          The Star Spangled Banner
          Mormon Tabernacle Choir
          Follow
          Lyrics
          Oh, say, can you see, by the dawn’s early light,
          What so proudly we hail’d at the twilight’s last gleaming?
          Whose broad stripes and bright stars, thro’ the perilous fight,
          O’er the ramparts we watch’d, were so gallantly streaming?
          And the rockets’ red glare, the bombs bursting in air,
          Gave proof thro’ the night that our flag was still there.
          O say, does that star-spangled banner yet wave
          O’er the land of the free and the home of the brave?
          O, thus be it ever when freemen shall stand,
          Between their lov’d homes and the war’s desolation;
          Blest with vict’ry and peace, may the heav’n-rescued land
          Praise the pow’r that hath made and preserv’d us as a nation!
          Then conquer we must, when our cause is just,
          And this be our motto: “in god is our trust”
          And the star-spangled banner in triumph shall wa
          Songwriters: Francis Scott Key
          The Star Spangled Banner lyrics © Imagem Music Inc
          Feedback
          Show less
          People also ask
          Why was the star spangled banner written?
          Who is the author of the national anthem?
          Is the Star Spangled Banner the national anthem?
          What drinking song was the national anthem based on?
          Feedback
          The Star-Spangled Banner – National Museum of American History
          Smithsonian Institution › amhistory › the…
          The Lyrics. Sing The National Anthem. Francis Scott Key was a gifted amateur poet. Inspired by the sight of the American flag flying over …
          Francis Scott KeySing the National AnthemSymbols of a New Nation
          [PDF]
          Complete version of “The Star-Spangled Banner” showing spelling and …
          Smithsonian Institution › amhistory › pdf
          Complete version of “The Star-Spangled Banner” showing spelling and punctuation from Francis Scott Key’s manuscript in the Maryland …
          The Star-Spangled Banner – Wikipedia
          Wikipedia › wiki › The_Star-Spangled_…
          Jump to Lyrics – O say does that star- spangled banner yet wave. O’er the land of the free and the home of the brave? On the shore …
          Lyrics‎: ‎Francis Scott Key‎, 1814‎
          Music‎: ‎John Stafford Smith‎, c. 1773‎
          Adopted‎: ‎March 4, 1931; 86 years ago‎
          Early historyModern historyReferences in film …CustomsProtests
          The Forgotten Verses of “The Star-Spangled Banner” – Dictionary.com
          Dictionary.com › blog › star-spangled-ba…
          Jun 30, 2017 – Do you know all the words to “The Star-Spangled Banner”? Many people have difficulty memorizing the lyrics of the first …
          Videos

          1:37
          Star Spangled Banner with Lyrics
          YouTube – Oct 23, 2012

          PREVIEW
          1:41
          The Star Spangled Banner (Lyrics)
          YouTube – Jun 11, 2016

          PREVIEW
          2:58
          Star Spangled Banner – Live With Lyrics: USA National Anthem
          YouTube – Jul 2, 2008

          1:44
          star spangled banner national anthem lyrics
          YouTube – Mar 13, 2013

          1:28
          Star Spangled Banner lyrics vocals and beautiful photos
          YouTube – Sep 27, 2010

          1:27
          Star Spangled Banner
          YouTube – May 26, 2016

          5:09
          Star Spangled Banner Full Version with Lyrics on Screen
          YouTube – Dec 2, 2012

          PREVIEW
          1:28
          Star Spangled Banner lyrics
          YouTube – Aug 30, 2016

          1:26
          Star Spangled Banner Song for Kids | National Anthem | The Kiboomers
          YouTube – May 13, 2016

          1:20
          USA National Anthem lyrics Star Spangled Banner
          YouTube – Nov 30, 2011
          Star-Spangled Bigotry: The Hidden Racist History of the National Anthem
          The Root › star-spangled-bigotry-the-hid…
          Jul 4, 2016 – In the case of our national anthem, “The Star-Spangled Banner,” perhaps not knowing the full lyrics is a good thing.
          Emilie Autumn Lyrics – The Star Spangled Banner – AZLyrics
          AZLyrics › E › Emilie Autumn Lyrics
          Lyrics to “The Star Spangled Banner” song by Emilie Autumn: Oh, say can you see by the dawn’s early light What so proudly we hailed at …
          The Star-Spangled Banner – The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
          LDS.org › music › library › hymns › the…
          Lyrics. 1. Oh say, can you see, by the dawn’s early light,. What so proudly we hailed … Oh say, does that star-spangled banner yet wave.
          Francis Scott Key – Star Spangled Banner | Genius
          Genius › F › Francis Scott Key
          AMP – Star Spangled Banner Lyrics. O say can you see … ‘Tis the star-spangled banner — O long may it wave. O’er the land of the free.

          • Thank you for acknowledging the truth behind the National Anthem. No one should be made to do something that they do not agree with. If they all-star quarter back kneels down his ass is not going anywhere or they could replace him with Mark Sanchez. I think not, the Cowboys want to win. Right now only thing making them money is there cheerleaders

        • Why is it a problem if players do not want to stand to honor a flag? Let’s honor the doctors, the nurses, the firemen, the police officer who do the same thing every day who put their lives on the line. Give me a break

          • Why don’t you join the service… you will figure out real fast what sacrifices are made when service personnel fight for this country and our flag! They leave their families behind, they risk their life, limbs, brain function and spirit all to keep You playing and watching football!! To keep you and your families safe from war and terrorism!!! Just because you have the right to kneel or disrespect the flag does NOT MAKE IT RIGHT!!! The reason you have the right is because we have brave men and women willing to FIGHT to give you that right!!!

      • They don’t get paid to be political…do that on their own time! They get paid to play a game and as their boss he can set standards and if they don’t like them they can work for someone else. Just like you have to right to work for someone else as well if you don’t like the standards they set. If you hate our anthem and our flag so much whay are you living here? If this country is so racist then why not move to a country that isn’t? We all have the rights we have because of people..black, white, Latino, Asian than fought and died for that flag..this great country! They fought beside each other! Had each others backs and they didn’t give two shits what color you were or gender you were they just wanted to know you had their back and that was all!! We all bleed red so get off you high moral racist horse and be a solution not part of the problem!!

        • Danielle, please refer to my comment earlier when I responded to your misinformed Brother, Zack. 100% facts, not based on feelings.

          • I hope, one day you understand, how lucky you are, that it’s not illegal to be opinionated AND ignorant. Your previous comment is both

        • I agree so let the 75% stop entertaining y’all idiots. Leave the NFL. Y’all don’t need them. Entertain yourselves. If his whole team sits then what? He’s going to fire everyone on the team? No he cant!

        • If all the blacks in the NFL quit there wouldn’t be a NFL! Like you said blacks fought in the war and more of us died than anyone and that gives us the right to sit or raise our fists we died for that right!

      • There is not a single racist lyric in the anthem. If everybody boycotted everything because they didn’t like the inventor, nobody would have anything.

        • “Their blood has wash’d out their foul footsteps’ pollution.
          No refuge could save the hireling and slave
          From the terror of flight or the gloom of the grave”

          Yep, nothing racist about glorying in the death of slaves in American history. No siree.

          • AJ these people are racist, you are correct no one has to honor the military. Firemen, cops, doctors, and nurses put their lives on the line every day. Where is their anthem??? Oh, there is no anthem. The original National Anthem was a hymn to created to rally slave owners to catch runaway slaves. Afro-American people need to know their history.

      • Good for you Run people do not understand what the original National was about. Making Afro-American players believe in something they do not is like living in slavery.

        • Tonya it appears to me that white folks are the ones that don’t know the history behind the national anthem….nor do they realize that Francis Scott key was a known racist.

      • A resignation letter would be your right. Jerry gabe them the same option. Stand or git!
        If you don’t stand for something…you’ll fall for everything!

      • That’s where your wrong because as a former personnel manager I would welcome your resignation and then fight you tooth and nail to make sure your ungrateful a associates doesn’t collect dime one in welfare or unemployment. As far as people not wanting see their ugly you asses that may be true but as ordinary AMERICANS we are through with the “millionaire ” oppressed whining ass little bitches,some of who are only adding to their so-called oppression by fathering little bastard children with this women and that women then not being man enough to raise to them.I’m a disabled VET and I love my football but this season it is gonna be college football for me and maybe these young men will learn the meaning of respect for their country,the FLAG & The men and women who have fought and died for this country. We as living Veterans have a saying that goes like this “All GAVE SOME – SOME GAVE ALL”. I will leave you this 1 thought the next time your at a sporting event and you decide you don’t want to stand for the National Anthem just remember their might be a Veteran such as myself who would just as soon knock your Dumbass out for disrespecting my FLAG & My COUNTRY as too look at your worthless disrespecting Ass!!!!!

        • You fought for a flag? Most of the people I know in the service fought to protect our country from enemies foreign and domestic. Threatening violence to enact political change doesn’t make you a patriot, it makes you a terrorist, and using your service as cover for terrorism speaks for itself.

  2. this is awesome!!! too many owners and employers are so afraid of setting america values expectations. they are extremely over paid athletes who bask in the opportunity on which other red blooded americans continue to give their lives to provide. i say the heck with kapernick, even his parents who are white and gave an opportunity he would’ve never had are shunning him. thumbs up for JJ

  3. Jerry Jones should be the standard bearer for all the NFL team owners. Sports are a way of taking your mind off the everyday stresses of life. When one of these multi-millionaire athletes feel the need to express their opinion it should be very easy for them to sit with a reporter and express their opinion. They should not be allowed to make their protest during a game and ruin the game for the people who pay their salary by supporting the sponsors that pay for the broadcast.

    • If all people of conscious on the Cowboys, (lets just say 10) to include Dak Prescott, Ezekiel Elliott, Dez Bryant and that entire All Pro Offensive Line decided to exercise their 1st Amendment right and protested this damn racist national anthem do You believe that Dictator Jerry Jones would release these players??? Surely, You can not believe that. Jerry Jones is nothing but Hott Air and a Liar. I wish I was on that team and a Mega Super Star, I would call his bluff

      • Love it, Welton, I hope the players do call these owners bluff. Marshawn Lynch is not standing for the National Anthem, and he is not going anywhere because he is a star player for the Raiders. Dak needs to call Jerry Jones bluff; I bet he will still be on the roster for the next game or they could recall Tony Romo. Tony Romo will stand for National Anthem, and Dak will not stand. With Tony, they will be a losing team, with Dak they have a good shot at the Super Bowl next year. Who do you think they will choose? The person who is standing for the flag or the person who is a big part of why the team is winning. It is a tough choice (lmao) I hope and pray Dak calls his bluff.

    • Kneeling during a song, no matter what that song is, doesn’t ruin a sports game. That’s just silly. It has nothing to do with the sport. It’s telling that you are fine with attacking the “multi-million dollar athletes” who actually do the work and provide the entertainment you are lauding, while defending the multi-BILLION dollar owners who do jack shit and exploit both the public and the players for their own profit.

  4. I have never been a fan of Dallas, until now God bless the owner now IMust split my allegiance to two teams Green Bay Packers and the Dallas Cowboys

  5. Thank you Mr. Jones, that’s why Dallas is the best. Thank you for supporting the flag, all of the owners should follow you. I refuse to watch any game that has these protesters in them.

  6. Thank God for people like Jerry Jones that has some common sense, the NFL IS MAKING MILLIONAIRES OUT OF THESE PLAYERS and this is the thanks and appreciation they give back, let’s face it, it’s a two way street..

  7. Nice to see someone has balls!!!
    While we have our military giving their lives for our freedom NO ONE has the right to disrespect our flag or country. If they don’t like it there are plenty of other countries to move to. SEE YA FELICIA!!!
    God Bless America and God Bless Mr. Jones!!!

  8. No matter whether one chooses to exercise their rights or not, there are always consequences to the choices made, sometimes good, sometimes not so good. The choice is still each individual’s right to make.

    • You’re right,it’s totally that person’s right to speak freely, but when you’re at work and you’re wearing a uniform, there’s a code of conduct that should be followed. The owner is telling his players to be professional or they won’t have a profession lol.

      • I totally agree! Kaepernick chose to exercise his rights and his decision has cost him his employment. He should have weighed the consequences before exercising that right and then made his choice accordingly. He rolled the dice and unfortunately, he lost. I detest his behavior and anyone who chooses to follow him should follow the same demise. There is a code of ethics and code of conduct to be followed and the owners have every right to demand it.

        • A right that can’t be exercised is no right at all. Appealing to “natural consequences” is supporting oppression and dictatorship.

          I mean, it’s a shame when those poor souls that live in dictatorships around the world exercise their right to protest against corruption, they totally deserve to be murdered by death squads, no? I mean, it’s the natural consequence of exercising their rights, they had it coming.

    • Maybe so, “Mytwosons”…as is JJ’s right to can the asses of any of his players who pulls this misguided time and venue to exercise their version of their rights!!!

  9. JERRY JONES for President! It’s about time that someone had the guts if you will, to tell these players that they stand for our National Anthem or they will not be playing for the Cowboys! Now let”s see how many other owners will follow his lead. This is a disgrace and should not be tolerated by any team owner. I also believe that the fans should boycott any team that allows this to go on!! Stand or lose your job.

    • Wish all of the minority players on his team had the balls to kneel at that moment. Let’s see how many players would be left. He would not have a team. To make a statement like that tells me obviously Jerry Jones cares more about money than his players!

      • Absolutely agree. The players made him billions Black Players. For him to say that is bullshit. He sound as racist as all the other owners of the NFL. Where are these players grrrdom of speech. You have this old man telling them they can’t express their rights.

        • Buy their own team…..then they can kneel all they want….Do you think I have the right to come into your house and disrespect your rules? If Derek Jeter, Magic Johnson and Michael Jordan can buy their own team…then other players can do it too and call the shots.

      • Barbara you are a fool and a traitor to the American people for feeling like that. You need to leave our country if you dont like it.!! I am now a Dallas Cowboys fan!!

        • Leave “your” country and go where? A Reservation? Be self sufficient like “Black Wallstreet” and get burned out and killed because of Hate, Jealousy, and BIGOTRY?

        • This is MY country, and I have every right to call out the government when it fails me. You have no problem with protests, you just don’t like what the players were protesting.

      • I agree Barbara, must things are about money. No one in Jerry’s camp is allowed to speak up because he’s the Master and owns them.

      • Jerry Jones is gping regret his words. Now it’s a guarantee that he’s going to be tested, and not in a small way. He should have stayed his ass in his lane and kept collecting the large sums of cash that THE PLAYERS GENERATE! He doesn’t pay their salaries, they pay his. He seems to have developed the delusional idea that he is the star of the Cowboys! It’s time that the players show the “owners” who runs that sh*t. The players generate the money! The so-called owners don’t OWN sh*t but franchise names. Those punks need to be taught a lesson.

      • You’re right These white bigots really don’t see the big picture, and they don’t want to. I’m coninced that we need to steer blacks away from sports. Let’s see how they like watching nothing but white players.

      • If you look at the rosters for all nfl,mlb.nba blacks are the majority of multi millionares they would never be there without the venues .Show some respect for the owners and fans or go work somewhere else.

      • Sounds like he cares more the flag than money and players to me, and I like that! On this, if he had to build a team from scratch I would be a Dallas fan for life!

        • I absolutely agree with you. There would be no players in the NFL if the owners fired the players. His statement reminds me of slavery, do as I say do or else. I welcome the black players in the NFL to challenge the or else.

    • I agree with Jones-Good for him an the Cowboys was the The only NFL team I watched last season and of course whomever they were playing-we will see which teams continue to do this nonsense if they do I will not be watching them

  10. Love these comments but lets be careful not to criticize and categorize all NFL players just because of what Crappernick did. A majority of them are also very patriotic. Nonetheless, as a vet, I do humbly salute Jerry Jones for taking a stand that many are to coward to take.

  11. Jerry Jones its your team you can do what you want & you will find replacement players with the wink of your eye you have made me a fan of the cowboys hey Phil. Eagles what is your statement.

  12. The Cowboys have been my team since I was a kid (50 years) and I had hard feelings for Jones when he took over and fired Landry but he has now done something to regain my respect. I hope the rest of the owners follow his lead and the commissioner grows a pair.

  13. Good for Mr. Jones, That’s the way it should be. He pays them for a service, and the rules are his to make. Say what you will about the Cowboys and the owner, but I think the world of him. He’s a good man.

  14. Okay, so I should be able to watch one game this year, Green Bay and Dallas, assuming they meet, no schedule in front of me. I may watch other games, but if players are kneeling, where’s the remote?

  15. What total BS! I am going to ask some obvious questions. Was the real reason why San Francisco had such a terrible turn out last season was that they were terrible? Did they win like 1 or 2 games? Maybe that had more to do with it than Colin Kaepernick’s silent protest against police brutality which goes on until this day. What makes people so angry at being reminded of truth? Maybe another reason people are being turned off by football is the fact we are watching grown men being physically destroyed with concussions, injuries as a form of entertainment and it has become not a good thing? The hypocrisy is so thick here it’s unbelievable, we call the flag the symbol of freedom and yet this employer is quashing the rights of his employees to speak freely for the sake of commerce and cloaks it under the label of patriotism. The last refuge of scoundrels, indeed.

    • Borrowed
      You want to take a knee?
      Take a little trip to Valley Forge in January. If you don’t know where that is, just Google it from the sidelines. Hold a musket ball in your fingers and imagine it piercing your flesh and breaking a bone or two. There won’t be a doctor or trainer to assist you until after the battle, so just wait your turn.Take your cleats and socks off to get a real experience. Then take a knee.
      Then, take one at the beach in Normandy where man after American man stormed the beach, even as the one in front of him was shot to pieces…the very sea stained with American blood. The only blockers most had were the dead bodies in front of them, riddled with bullets from enemy fire.
      Take a knee in the sweat soaked jungles of Vietnam. from Khe San to Saigon…Anywhere will do. Americans died in all those jungles.There was no playbook that told them what was next, but they knew what flag they represented. When they came home, they were protested as well..and spit on for reasons only cowards know.
      Take another knee in the blood drenched sands of Fallujah in 110 degree heat..Wear your Kevlar helmet and battle dress…Your number won’t be printed on it unless your number is up! You’ll need to stay hydrated but there won’t be anyone to squirt Gatorade into your mouth. You’re on your own.
      There’s a lot of places to take a knee. Americans have given their lives all over the world. When you use the banner under which they fought as a source for your displeasure, you dishonor the memories of those who bled for the very freedoms you have. That’s what the red stripes mean. It represents the blood of those who spilled a sea of it defending your liberty.
      While you’re on your knee, pray for those that came before you, not on a manicured lawn striped and printed with numbers to announce every inch of ground taken…but on nameless hills and bloodied beaches and sweltering forests and bitter cold mountains…every inch marked by an American life lost serving that flag you protest.
      No cheerleaders, no announcers, no coaches, no fans…just American men and women…delivering the real fight against those who chose to harm us…blazing a path so you would have the right to “take a knee.”
      You haven’t an inkling what it took to get you where you are…but your “protest” is duly noted. Not only is it disgraceful to a nation of real heroes, it serves the purpose of pointing to your ingratitude for those who chose to defend you under that banner that will still wave long after your jersey is retired…
      If you really feel the need to take a knee, come with me to church on Sunday and we’ll both kneel before Almighty God. We’ll thank him for preserving this country for as long as He has. We’ll beg forgiveness for our ingratitude for all He has provided us. We’ll appeal to Him for understanding and wisdom. We’ll pray for liberty and justice for all…because He is the one who provides those things.
      But there will be no protest. There will only be gratitude for His provision and a plea for His continued grace and mercy on the land of the free and the home of the brave. It goes like this…
      GOD BLESS AMERICA!

    • Disrespecting the flag and national anthem is not a way to protest police brutality. If you want to do that I’m with ya 100%. We’ll get some signs and protest in front of City Hall and police headquarters. Disrespecting the flag is disrespecting the men and women who have served, fought for and died defending this country.

  16. I’m not a Cowboys fan and never will be but I have a lot of respect for Jones. I think EVERY owner should give the same option to their team. I liked the 49’ers until their quarterback disrespected our flag.

  17. THANK YOU! No one watches football for political statements. I will not watch any game with players that “take a knee”.

  18. Modernize slavery. The massa speaks we listen. That’s another reason to dislike the Cowboys. All of you saying Jerry Jones is there owner screw yourself. Racist. When has Jerry Jones spoke out about police brutality against black men. 90% of his players are black men.

  19. Mr. Jones would do well to read the constitution, particularly the 1st Amendment, of the country he professes to love so much.

    • Kathleen, we have freedom of speech. We do NOT have freedom of the consequences of what we say. It’s an important distinction.

  20. I think it’s awesome that finally someone set the rules of thw game.
    This is a job like any other, employers don’t pay you to “make a statement, express yourself” while you’re flipping fries at Burger King, does he?

    Keep your opinions & “stands” for your own time.
    We don’t pay a disgusting amount of money to watch you disrespect our country, we pay you to play football.
    You wanna throw a tantrum, do it on your time÷

  21. Although I’m a diehard Redskins fan. I have nothing but respect for Jerry Jones display of respect for our flag, and servicemen and women, past, present, and future who have served our country. I know it’s an earned right in America. But I’m so tired of people wanting to take advantage of American rights. But not respecting what it was that got it’s here. I just wish we could return to American tradition, and pride. But football is supposed to be a pastime. Not a political board to express your beliefs. I also think Roger Goodell should implement certain guidelines pertaining to this behavior like they did with outside criminal behavior. If your going to set standard’s. Set them all the way across the board then.

  22. Thank you Mr Jones for respecting our flag and the men and women that defend that national anthem every day. I wish more owners will stand up and do the same thing. As a owner you have that right to write that into your code of conduct .

  23. Mr Keapernic is an American Hero who seems to know what the Flag stands for all Americans not for a privilege few and It seems as though few Americans can’t or won’t read the constitution nor does Mr Jones understand that just because you pay someone doesn’t mean you own them if he(Mr Jones)doesn’t agree with any American he has that right but to tell someone how to be and think he doesn’t have that right and for those of you who want to call this young Man out of his name and defame him for using his platform to educate and inform to me is UN AMERICAN.Mr Jones should be kneeling with him instead of taking the stance for a symbol instead of Lives

    • If you are employed and the owner of the company has rules, you follow those rules. If you don’t, you have the possibility of being fired. Of course, now a days, you get written up and then if you don’t correct the problems, then there will be a good chance you will be unemployed. With that being said, JJ has every right to say what he did, his place of employment rules. If a player wants to express his or her freedom of speech, then it needs to be on their time and away from where they work. Every action has a consequence. Good or bad. Next time go to a protest. When I watch a sport I want to watch it. Not what the players are protesting. Karma

  24. Isn’t it a little ironic that they love the money and attention and hate the country with the freedoms for them to earn those huge salaries. Go try to find any of this in any other country!!!!!

    • No one said they hate their country, they are protesting the treatment of themselves and others who look like them in this country. Just because they get paid a huge salary, it doesn’t mean they are no longer treated as anything but a “stupid nigger” (not your words but words used IMMEDIATELY by MANY people after Kaepernick started his protest) who should be grateful he even has a job….

  25. It’s funny how people are crying about Jones acting like he owns his player… He never once said they coodnt protest the flag he said they coodnt do it while on the roster and your right he does not own any of the players but just like any owner or boss he is under no obligation to keep u employed either everyone talking about the constitution and shit and nothing Jones said goes against the constitution any more than your boss telling you that certain things are not acceptable while your at work goes against the constitution he has every right to set rules while you are in the Dallas uniform and like he said your more than welcome to go a different team just like any of you can go to a different job well said Jones and to all you cry babies wanna bitch about it being so bad here ya know if you guys all left the problem would be gone if it’s that bad here than go away if it’s that bad here then stop crying about trumps wall it’s bad here the wall is doing u a favor by keeping u out of this horrible place

  26. Good cause I’ve said it this is there job on company time NFL shouldn’t allow it to be done on company time feel free to make a stand protest on your time an money it’s your right ,but don’t bring it to work

  27. Jerry Jones is the biggest idiot in football..
    Smfh doesn’t know a thing about history or politics..
    Fuckin immigrant!

  28. Buy their own team…..then they can kneel all they want….Do you think I have the right to come into your house and disrespect your rules? If Derek Jeter, Magic Johnson and Michael Jordan can buy their own team…then other players can do it too and call the shots.

    • They won’t allow a black man to by a NFL team. It has been attempted. And since y’all want to keep avoiding the reason why he kneeled then forget you. I hope all black players kneel. Let’s see what y’all do with 25% of the league left.

  29. I am very proud of you Mr. Jones. When I heard of that clown kneeling during the national anthem, it made me sick. I served in the USAF and am a Vietnam veteran and you Jerry Jones are a fine example of why this country is so great and frankly why me and every other vet did what we did! GO COWBOYS !!!

  30. I THINK IT IS JUST GREAT WHAT HE IS DOING AND ALL OWNERS SHOULD DO THE SAME IF THEY DONT THEN THE NFL SHOULD TAKE THE TEAMS OFF TV AND NO TV MONET IT IS TIME THESE SPOILED PLAYERS FIND OUT THEY DONT OWN THESE TEAMS NO PAY NO PLAY

  31. People can’t have it both ways. In one breath people talk about people fighting and dying for our freedom, but are are mad he is actually exercising the exact right that people fought and died for. I get why people don’t like the protest, and I am neither defending nor condemning his actions, but seriously find a new reason to not like it without talking out the side of your face and being a hypocrite.

  32. I’m not a big fan of the cowboys but I’m glad someone is standing up and saying our flag is important and that we should respect the flag and everything it stands for.

  33. Last year I didn’t watch any NFL after the first week. This year will be the same. I’m 65 and a Browns supporter all my life until last week. What the large group of browns players did was disgusting to me and I have turned my back on the browns . Yes they have the right to protest but so do I, I will not support the Browns or their top 6 sponsors and the NFL. Thank you Jerry I wish I didn’t support the Browns all these years and should of gone Cowboys.

  34. If you want people to stand for the anthem then sing the entire song.. so people can know what they are really singing. Fuck Jerry Jones and the Cowgirls

  35. Maybe he should worry about all the actual law breakers he has employed over the decades. Like his runningback just for begginers!

    • Marshawn Lynch did not stand for the National Anthem and guess what his ass is not going anywhere. Afro-American’s players need to stand up for what they believe in and stop conforming. “If you stand for nothing you will fall for anything”

  36. Jerry is not going to do anything its a lie , the players will get some hot shot atty paid for by black lives matter or naacp game over they or they will get paid for sitting out ! Screw the cowturds and the browns and all the others shut them down take the billions give our military a raise and social security and let these do nothing’s a real job !

  37. It is a non-issue. As a disabled veteran, I couldn’t care less if somebody stands for the National Anthem or not. I swore an oath to defend the Constitution, not a flag. If y’all are so patriotic, go serve in the military. What, you don’t want to, you can’t? Then just STFU. It is so easy to be a faux patriot and criticize people on the internet than it is to do something meaningful.

  38. 49ers fan who is now for the Cowboys! Jerry, you are the only owner with enough guts to stand up for the Veterans as you always have!

  39. It’s about time that these owners start standing up to these over paid babies. Put them out in the field with the military and see what they do. We were about ready to give up on our favorite pass time sport.

  40. No refuge shall save, neither hireling or slave, the fear of the flight, or the gloom of the grave. 3rd stanza of the anthem. Loooks specifically like escaped slave will suffer being chased down and killed. To demand a descendant of slaves honor that appears evil.

  41. Since when did the “National Anthem” become part of the game: as I recall it is plAME!!!ayed BEFORE each game..not during the game! There is no time taken off the play clock while it is being played; no time out is called during the time it is being played. Yet when the whistle is blown to start the game and the game clock, every one of those players are ready, set and willing to do what they are paid to do..PLAY THEIR POSITION IN THE GAME!!! So would someone explain to me how not standing for the “National Anthem” which again is played prior to the START of the game, takes away from the player performing his duties for which the owners are paying them to do!

    • Rodney, the player is on tv, on the field, in uniform, representing his employer and his team. Whether the clock is running is irrelevant. If the “anthem boycotting player” is truly moved by the cause he should be in his OWN clothes on his OWN time making a difference.

  42. Way to go! Thank you Jerry Jones, for taking a stand for our flag and country. Dallas Cowboys are now officially my favorite team. I will not support any thing to do with the NFL unless they stand with you. Thank you, thank you.

  43. Amen! When these players are in uniform they’re representing the club and the owners. Owners have the complete right to demand a certain behavior. If a player wants to ske a political or social statement they must do on their own time but they won’t! How many events have we seen “CK” At in street clothes for this cause?

  44. I have the utmost respect for Jones and pray other team owners will follow his leadership. You’re a man if integrity and I know I’m proud of your stance and I guarantee all the military and there families are proud of your stance too. I’ll be supporting the Cowboys as well!!!

  45. I’ve never been a big football fan but then again I’ve never seen the owner of a team tell the players if they don’t stand for the national anthem then they are off the team and I admire Jerry Jones for that and for that I have just become a Dallas Cowboys fan… God bless you Jerry Brown you’re a good man !!!

  46. What Jerry Jones just stated is true eight players are nothing but a bunch of spoiled little brat you probably couldn’t get a job anywhere else if it wasn’t for football their way overpaid and are trying to make political statements and they had no business partner knows in politics there to play football 🏈 And not to be politicians so yeah I’m glad Jerry Jones spanked them guys and made it be known if you don’t stand for the national anthem you’re off the team

  47. Football is entertainment for veiwers. But, it is a JOB for the players. It is their work. None of us are allowed to protest anything while on the job. Why should it be ok for them?

  48. Jerry Jones, like Trump and his sick supporters, are all hypocritical fascists. Support the right to gun down hundreds of people, but deny the CONSTITUTIONAL right to dissent and to protest. You’re not Americans, you’re chickenshit, hypocritical fascists.

  49. I’d love to see all the Cowboys take a knee for the anthem just to see the look on Jerry Jones’ face! Would he really forfeit the game and sent all the fans home? O well, slim to no chance of that, the ‘Boys are All American Chickens! No guts at all as men. They need to show Jones that ownership isn’t everything, that without them he has nothing.

1 Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Cowboy’s Owner Announces New Rule That Could Save The NFL & It Has Fans Everywhere Cheering - Healthy Magazine

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*